Govt approves Rs 450 cr Swadesh Darshan projects 07/09/2016

Govt approves Rs 450 cr Swadesh Darshan projects
07/09/2016 12:50
The government has approved projects worth about Rs 450 crore under 'Swadesh Darshan' scheme for five states, including poll-bound Uttar Pradesh.
The scheme was launched with an objective to develop 13 theme-based tourist circuits in the country and the approval for five was given in a meeting of the central sanctioning and monitoring committee (CSMC) on Monday.
"The CSMC for the Swadesh Darshan Scheme has approved projects to the tune of Rs 450 crore for development of various circuits in Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim and Tamil Nadu," an official said.
'Ramayana circuit' in Uttar Pradesh with a project cost of Rs 70 crore was approved, while 'heritage circuits' in Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand with costs of Rs 100 crore and Rs 83 crore, respectively, were also sanctioned, he said.
'Coastal circuit' in Tamil Nadu with a cost of about Rs 100 crore and envisages development of Chennai-Mamamallapuram- Rameshwaram-Manpadu-Kanyakumari.
The 'heritage circuit' in Madhya Pradesh, which covers Gwalior-Orchha-Khajuraho-Chanderi-Bhimbetka-Mandu with a total project cost of about Rs 100 crore, envisages infrastructural development of the sites, the official said.
However, the 'Heritage circuit' in Uttarakhand is for development of infrastructure in Jageshwar-Devidhura-Katarmal- Baijnath sites with a total project cost of about Rs 83 crore.
The 'Ramayana circuit' in Uttar Pradesh envisages development of two destinations — Chitrakoot and Shringverpur. It also includes Ayodhya, for which UP Tourism Department is preparing a detailed project report, the official said.
The 'North East circuit', with cost of Rs 95.50 crore, in Sikkim was given the green signal and it includes development of eco log huts, cultural centre, paragliding centre, craft bazaar, base camp for mountaineering and meditation hall, he added.
Under 'Swadesh Darshan', 13 thematic circuits have been identified for development, namely North-East India Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit and Heritage Circuit